Happy Birthday, Friend!

18 Jan

I’m just back from a celebratory lunch with my one-of-a-kind girlfriend, Debbie, whose birthday is today. We decided not to just celebrate her birthday but LIFE and FRIENDSHIP, as well! Isn’t that a wonderful idea?

So, here’s the card I made for Debbie’s special day!

My card was inspired by this card, which I saw yesterday when perusing  Stampin’ Connection (a site available exclusively to demonstrators). The designer, Ali Moy, called it “Cute By the Inch.” It really is, isn’t it? This was Ali’s first attempt at uploading a card; she did a great job, I think! So good, in fact, that I borrowed the same color scheme and basic design for my card. Thank you, Ali! I  just love being a Stampin’ Up! demonstrator because we copy and share everything!

So, want to know how I made this card? Here goes:  The base (bottom layer…the actual card) is Sahara Sand Cardstock cut to 5-1/2″ x 8-1/2″, folded in half with the fold on the left side. (Okay, all you pros…I know YOU know this, but I’m hoping that some brand new stamper out there somewhere might actually try to make this card IF I give them enough how-to details!). Layer two is Not Quite Navy Cardstock cut to 5-1/4″ x 4″. Layer three is Very Vanilla Cardstock cut to 5″ x 3-3/4″. Layer four is Not Quite Navy again, this time cut to 4-3/4″ x 3-1/2″. Okay, that’s all the cutting…well almost.

I put my Friends Never Fade stamp set to good use on this card. I stamped the tile image in Not Quite Navy Classic Ink six times on a sheet of Very Vanilla Cardstock and then punched the images out with my1-1/4″ Square Large Punch. I adhered those cardstock tiles with Snail.

Next, I set to work on the focal point. I stamped the FRIENDS ARE FLOWERS THAT NEVER FADE image on Very Vanilla Cardstock, using Not Quite Navy Classic Ink. I decided I wanted a little pop of color so I pulled out my Regal Rose Classic Stampin’ Spot and my Aqua Painter and water-colored the center flower. Not quite satisfied, I opted for the addition of a little sparkle. I used my Two-Way Glue Pen and a sprinkle of Dazzling Diamonds to add the perfect final touch. My Paper Snips made quick work of cutting out the image and then I popped that piece up with Stampin’ Dimensionals, right over top of the tiles.

I tied a piece of the beautiful, vintage-look Victoria 5/8″ Crochet Trim around all of the layers, using just a simple knot. The Happy Birthday sentiment is from another favorite, oft-used set of mine, Teeny Tiny Wishes. It’s stamped with Not Quite Navy and punched with the Word Window Punch. The 1/16″ Circle Punch — a hand-held punch — added the little hole in the tag through which I threaded a piece of Linen Thread before knotting it around the Crochet Trim.

Done! Well, not quite. I added a piece of 5-1/4″ x 4″ Very Vanilla Cardstock inside and stamped the images you see below to add the finishing touch.

Before giving this card to Debbie, I added a personal note about my gift to her…the gift of time together! You know, we all get so busy with the mundane “stuff” that fills our days, we forget to make time for the things that are really important…the people in our lives! So, as much as it is a gift to Debbie, it is a gift to me to set aside planned time — time actually blocked out on the calendar for this purpose, and this purpose alone — to nourish our friendship. I hope you’ll choose a friend with whom you’ll do the same!

One Response to “Happy Birthday, Friend!”

  1. tory January 19, 2011 at 8:27 am #

    Thank you for posting the measurements. I’m one of those newbies to stamping.

Leave a Reply

