Feel the Love

19 Jan

A while back I saw a Clean and Simple Christmas card created by Robin Merriman (my stamping hero).  While this Valentine doesn’t look anything like Robin’s card, her design inspired me.

It’s a Pretty in Pink card, cut to 5-1/2″ x 8-1/2″, folded in half with the fold at the top. Then it was stamped in Rich Razzleberry Classic Ink in the upper left corner and the lower right corner, using the three hearts stamp from the  Love You Much stamp set. Like Robin, I decided to add a little shimmer so I lightly spritzed the card with Silver Foil Smooch Spritz. Make sure you catch the spray in the Color Catcher!

I used my Aqua Painter and my Pretty in Pink Classic Re-inker to paint half a piece of Watercolor Paper (2-1/2″ x 3-3/4″).  Then I inked up my Letterpress Plate with my Rich Razzleberry Craft Stampin’ Spot, placed the watercolored paper on top, and ran it through my Big Shot. I think the image isn’t crisp because I didn’t wait for the  watercolor paper to dry but I like it the way it is. I’m famous for telling my stampers “There’s no such thing as a mistake; it’s just a creative opportunity” (or “‘a happy accident”). Anyway, I like the soft, slightly blurred look of the lettering. It fits with the softness of the watercolor.

I popped on three (3) Basic Rhinestones in the largest size for a little glitz (plus I just didn’t like the way that rectangle ended up there in the corner. A happy accident? A creative opportunity? Happy with the focal point of my card, I popped it up with four (4) Stampin’ Dimensionals — one in each corner — and mounted it on the card.

Yikes! No! That just wouldn’t do! So, I popped the top layer back off and adhered it with those same Dimensionals to a layer of Brushed Silver Cardstock (2-3/4″ x 4). Then, I adhered the whole thing to the Pretty in Pink card with Snail Adhesive. Yep, the addition of that silver layer did the trick!

Inside the card, I stamped the same three (3) little hearts I used on the card front at the bottom right corner.

Are you feelin’ the love?

Leave a Reply

