Living the American Dream!

28 Jan

Wow! What a whirlwind week it has been!

My Monday morning began with the wheels of the bus going round and round, round and round, round and round! We arrived at The Mall in Washington, D.C. just in time for the start of the March for Life Rally! We listened to the politicians, the survivors, the organizers, the March founder, and others! We prayed! We made new friends! We took pictures! And then we marched! Thought you might like to see a photo of me (far left) and some of my fellow marchers! Yep, that’s the Supreme Court behind us! And yes, that’s a Stampin’ Up! messenger bag, a Convention gift from 2008!Here’s another photo of the same group with the Capitol behind us! Just in case you can’t tell…it was cold outside!

So, you’d think that was enough excitement for one week, right? Nope! I had a 9 am interview the morning after the March to finalize my application to start training next week to become a Master Gardener! I love getting my hands and feet in the dirt! I’m big-time into using plants native to my area in my landscaping so I’m very excited about learning more about that and all things green ( not in the contemporary sense either)! I start training next week! WooHoo! Since this was on my mind while I was in D.C. I took pictures of native plants as I strolled past the Botanical Gardens! This is  one of the plants I plan to incorporate into my garden this spring!

Dog Hobble

My “Group Therapy” team met this week over a delicious pot-luck dinner of lasagna, Italian bread, spinach dip and chips, apple turnovers, Rocky Road and Moose Tracks ice cream AND Becky’s secret-recipe caramel popcorn (Try eating just one handful of that stuff!). We eat right when we get together!
Jan presented each team member a hand-stamped domino necklace! Don’t you love it? In case you’re wondering, it’s no accident that the necklace is arranged in the shape of a heart. Wouldn’t you love to give a Valentine gift like this? Imagine the domino stamped with a beautiful floral image for Mom or a cute little “All in the Family” image for your daughter. Want to know how to do this? Watch here for info about an upcoming class! Thanks, Jan, for sharing with us!

Becky, who was blessed to attend Leadership in Nashville, TN earlier this month, passed on the +One message to all of us! She also shared lots of great stamping ideas and lots of great swaps! Thank you, Becky; you did a great job! Here’s one of my favorite swaps:

Don’t you love this card? It’s made with Crumb Cake Cardstock as the base card, cut at 8-1/2″ x 5-1/2″ — the fold is at the top. The Crumb Cake is topped with a layer of Whisper White Cardstock cut at 5 x 3-3/4.” The new Crazy for Cupcakes stamp set is used to create the three cupcakes. They are punched with the new Create-a-Cupcake Punch. Both the stamp set and the punch can be found in the Occasions Mini Catalog. That simple strip of Linen Thread is wrapped and tied around the Pretty in Pink Dotted Scallop Ribbon Border {Punch}. And that precious sentiment — with which I wholeheartedly agree…think that’s why I like this card so much!! — is from the Crazy for Cupcakes set, too! Don’t you just have to have that set? Well, I decided I do. So, I broke down and ordered it last night! Guess what we’ll be using to make cards with around here pretty soon?

I had the distinct honor of being selected to serve on a jury this week. I wasn’t just called for jury duty…I sat on a jury. It was a civil case…a contract dispute led to a lawsuit. I, and the six other jurors, listened to testimony all day Thursday and today. The trial wasn’t completed until late afternoon today. In the end, our jury rendered a unanimous verdict for the defendant.

So, after this very busy week, as I was driving home from the Courthouse this afternoon, I realized that this week was a perfect representation of “living the American Dream.”

  • I marched peacefully in my nation’s capital city to express my disagreement with my government’s laws. And no one arrested me.
  • I own my own home and can live here as I choose…including planting native species of plants. No one tells me where I must live.
  • I have a small business. I can work with whomever I choose. I can work when I choose. I can work how I choose. No one forces me to work.
  • I can choose what and how much I want to eat. No one can force me to eat anything nor can anyone keep me from eating what I want. And there is plenty!
  • Our freedoms are guaranteed in the Constitution. Today I was part of a jury constituted of the plaintiff’s and the defendant’s peers. A verdict was rendered. The jury peacefully left the courtroom.
  • Here I sit, writing on this blog, saying what I think…what I believe…and I have the right to do so. No one is controlling my use of the internet. I have a right to free speech…the right to send this out to the world for all to see.

I hope I’ve given you a little food for thought today! I just don’t think it gets much better than this! I am very thankful to be living the American Dream!

Leave a Reply

