Lost in the woods

9 May

The Cheyenne, Appomattox, VA

I’ve been lost in the woods! Well, not literally but certainly figuratively! I was only 45 minutes away from home but I might as well have been a world away. For the past five days, my husband, parents, youngest brother and I stayed at a cabin — The Cheyenne — set on 25 scenic acres bordering the Appomattox River in Appomattox County, VA.  No telephone. No internet. Very little TV…uses a window antenna…we did watch American Idol and Medium but that’s about all the TV-watching we did for five days!

I took lots of reading material and lots of stuff to stamp and a bag filled with work but I didn’t do any of it. I visited with my family. I listened to the turkeys gobbling in the surrounding forest. I watched the bluebirds prepare the worms they then fed to their babies. I was mesmerized by a blue heron gliding in for a landing on the river.  In the mornings I awakened to the call of the bob-white. At night, I fell asleep to the song of the whip-poor-will.  In between, the air was filled with a beautiful symphony of bird songs (and no lawn mowers!)! So, I revelled in the beauty of my surroundings.

When I was tired, I napped. When I was restless, I took a walk. When I was hungry, I ate. The simple life.  Uncomplicated. Beautiful!

Now I’m back home. Back to work.

My stamp room has been re-painted. I’m working on putting it back together this week for a BIG REVEAL this Friday night! Mark your calendar for Friday, May 13 at 7 pm! Join me for K.I.S.S. (Keep It Simple Stamping) from 7-9! I’ve got some very nice cards planned for you! I know you’re going to like them! Don’t forget to RSVP to let me know you’re coming!

Hope to see you soon!

Until we meet again…HAPPY STAMPIN’!

Leave a Reply

