Happy Birthday, Little Girl!

22 Oct

My little girl is not so little anymore. She turned 21 this week. On October 18, my youngest child, my only daughter, my little girl turned 21! I don’t know where the years went…but my little girl is all grown up!

She’s a junior at Belmont University in Nashville, TN. Her aspiration is to become a country recording artist! Being an artistic type, she’s got a unique style, which includes cowboy boots…with everything! So, what would be more perfect for her birthday card than cowboy boots?

What do you think of the special card I made for her?

Want to know how I made it? How about if we start with those killer boots? Believe it or not, I started with the new stocking punch, found in the Holiday Mini Catalog! I punched two “stockings” from Island Indigo card stock. To convert the stocking to a boot, I used the wide oval punch to remove the top part of the foot of the stocking. That’s it. Simple, huh? To round the top of the boot, I created a template by punching a card stock scrap with the 3/4″ circle punch. I then laid the circle over the top of the stocking top, traced the top of the circle, and used my snips to cut along the line. Okay, now you’ve got the boot shape. Now for some finishing touches.

  • Leather texture added to “boots” with a retired Texturz plate.
  • Stamped with VersaMark, using flourish from Elements of Style stamp set. Added Silver Embossing Powder and set with heat gun.
  • Stamped with VersaMark, using flowers from Borderlines stamp set. Added Melon Mambo Embossing Powder and set with heat gun.
  • Used a scrap strip of Island Indigo card stock to create the boot straps. Just folded a piece over and attached it with a little snail to backside of boot.
  • The heel was created with the jewelry tag punch. I punched it from Soft Suede and added texture by swiping Soft Suede ink across the card stock with a sponge.
  • Last, but certainly not least, I added some bling!! Self-adhesive rhinestones dot the center of each flower down the side of each boot.

Did you notice the lace peeking out of the top of the boots? My daughter had crocheted legwarmers on her wish list. So, here’s my inspiration. I just used a couple of snips of Victoria Crochet Trim and tucked them in the boot tops!Pay close attention and you’ll notice that she’s wearing black leggings under her multi-layered skirt. Speaking of skirts…how about that skirt? It’s Stampin’ Up!’s beautiful Spice Cake fabric — available in the Holiday Mini Catalog! With the Big Shot, and the Scallop Circle Die, I cut two pieces of fabric. Each skirt layer is one quarter of a circle. I just laid one on top of the other and “snailed” them down. The petticoat peeking out from the bottom of the skirt was created with a strip of Whisper White card stock and the Eyelet Border Punch. I just accordian-folded it.

The belt is a strip of Soft Suede card stock. I just folded the ends under the edges of the skirt. Of course, a country star’s gotta shine! When the spotlight hits that belt buckle, boy-oh-boy, will it ever sparkle! The Bojo Blossom Punch, the 1/2″ Circle Punch and the Silver Glimmer Paper made an awesome buckle, fit for a superstar, don’t you think?

Here are some other supplies used to create this card:

  • Card stock: Island Indigo, Pool Party, Soft Suede, Whisper White, Basic Black
  • Designer Series Papers: Spice Cake, Silver Glimmer Paper
  • Inks: VersaMark, Soft Suede, Pool Party, Island Indigo
  • Accessories: On Board Merry Medley

Oh, I almost forgot. You might like to see the inside of the card, too.

I finished off the card with a Scallop Envelope, created with the Big Shot, Island Indigo card stock, and the Scallop Envelope Die, which I “blinged” up with glimmer paper, and attached to the inside left of the card. I tucked a check inside, with a little note attached that said “Boots to-die-for.” Talk about one excited girl! New boots. It just don’t get no better ‘an that!!!

The Birthday Girl

2 Responses to “Happy Birthday, Little Girl!”

  1. Kelli October 22, 2011 at 9:32 pm #

    Kathy,
    Fabulous card! And your daughter is beautiful! I bet she absolutely loved her 21st bday card!
    Kelli

  2. April S. October 23, 2011 at 12:03 am #

    Gorgeous card!! VERY creative :0)

Leave a Reply

