A Valentine that doesn’t scream VALENTINE!

30 Jan


Here’s a Kathy Original!

I wanted to create a Valentine that didn’t SCREAM Valentine!

What do you think? Was I successful?

Here’s how I made it:

  1. Layer 1: Melon Mambo –  cut to 5-1/2″ x 8-1/2″; fold in half using Bone Folder (a MUST-HAVE); fold is on left side
  2. Layer 2: Pretty in Pink – cut to 5-1/4″ x 4″
  3. Layer 3: Sweet Stitches Designer Series Paper (Occasions Mini Catalog); cut two different patterns to 2-1/2″ x 3-3/4″
  4. Embellish with 2 pieces of Melon Mambo Trim (Occasions Mini Catalog), cut to 4-1/4″; I used three Mini Glue Dots per piece of trim to adhere them to the card, 1 at each end and one in the middle, but you could use Snail, if you prefer
  5. Sentiment: The sentiment is from the Dreams du Jour stamp set (p. 101, IB&C). I inked it up with Tempting Turquoise and Melon Mambo Stampin’ Write Markers and stamped it onto Whisper White cardstock cut to 3″ x 1-1/4″ — the same size as the wood block.  I added a little texture with the Turquoise Stampin’ Write Marker and the Color Spritzer Tool. You know I hadn’t used that thing in a while and had forgotten how cool an effect it gives! I popped up the sentiment with a couple of Stampin’ Dimensionals on layers of Tempting Turquoise (3-1/4″ x 1-1/2″) and Melon Mambo (3-1/2″ x 1-3/4″). Done!

Now, were I the one to write the sentiment in this card I might say something like this:

And I love your blue eyes.

And your sense of humor.

And the way you smile when I tell you I love you.

And that you’re mine forever.

Happy Valentine’s Day, Honey!

 

What would you say?

 

 

Leave a comment